Skip to content

Metropol Parasol, Seville, finalist for the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the metropol parasol Seville2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. In total, 335 works in the 37 European countries which participate in the EU Culture programme were nominated for the award. An expert jury drew up the final shortlist. The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the 'special mention' award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on 6 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

The biennial European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture and the Special Mention for an Emerging Architect are awarded to highlight recent, excellent examples of architectural creativity of works which are less than two years old and to underline that modern architecture is socially and culturally rooted in European cities and is important in people's everyday life. The prizes are awarded for works in the countries participating in the Culture Programme.

The five finalists are:

-Metropol Parasol (cultural and commercial space), Seville, Spain
J. Mayer H.
-City Hall, Ghent, Belgium
Architects: Robbrecht en Daem architecten; Marie-José Van Hee architecten
-Superkilen (intercultural urban park), Copenhagen, Denmark
BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex
-Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland
Batteríid Architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson
-House for Elderly People, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
Aires Mateus Arquitectos

metropol parasol Seville3

metropol parasol Seville2

metropol parasol Seville4


Rate this post
(Visited 119 times, 12 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.